How to perform Shraddh Ceremony? Shraddh Tithi (Dates) 2015

by 9/21/2015 0 comments
Shraddh Ceremony 2015

On each day of the dark fortnight (Pitra Paksha), special offerings are made to the ancestors whose lunar date (Tithi) of death corresponds to that particular day. Favourite food items of the departed person are specially prepared and offered after performing a puja .

One must offer food to Brahmin and donate Yatha Shakti. A small portion of the food is also offered to the Cow (Gow Grass) before offering it to Brahmin..

A small portion of the food is also offered to the crow who is considered as a connection between the world of the living and the world of the dead. Round balls of rice and flour, called pinda , are also offered, along with the sacred kusha grass and flowers, amidst sprinkling of water and chanting of mantras from the Sam Veda.

Shraddh Tithi - Pitra Paksha Calendar 2015

Sun, 27 Sep 2015 to Mon, 12 Oct 2015

Purnima (Full Moon) ka shraddha: Sun, 27 September 2015

Ekam (Pratipada) ka shraddha: Mon, 28 September

Dyitia ka Shraddh: Tue, 29 September

Tritiya ka Shraddha: Wed, 30 September

Chaturthi ka shraddh: Thu, 1 October

Panchami ka shraddh: Fri, 2 October

Shasthi ka shraddh: Sat, 3 October

Saptami ka shraddh: Sun, 4 October

Ashtami ka shraddh: Sun, 4 October

Navami ka shraddh: Tue, 6 October

Dashmi ka shraddha: Wed, 7 October

Ekadasi ka shraddh: Thu, 8 October

Dwadashi ka shraddh: Fri, 9 October

Tryodashi ka shraddh: Sat, 10 October

Chaturdashi ka shraddh (only when death due to accident, murder, by poisons etc): Sun, 11 October

Chaturdashi (Normal Death) / Amavasya ka shraddh: Mon, 12 October

Note : 1) Sarvpitru Sharaddh on Mon, 12 October 2015

2) Chaturdashi’s shraddha should observe on Amavas Day, unless some one died in accident/war.


If possible consult your pundits/purohit to perform this ceremony of departed souls.

Ajay Govind

Devotee,Author

My profile has nothing great to write but I have blessings of Lord Ganesha, Maa Saraswati, Guru Bhagwan and Lord Sri HariHar.